top of page
  • Writer's pictureTyler Thum

Gucia

Updated: Jan 15

Gucia (1985), a phenomenally shot Polish film about what first love feels like. The short film starts off with a young boy named Tomek, who says he has the power to turn girls into boys. This catches a little girl's ear named Gucia, as she wants to be cool and wants to be a boy to be able to play games with the boys, and to fit in. As the movie goes on, Tomek plays games with Gucia, and does various activities with her, as he does with the other girls he turns into boys. But this time it is different. Tomek starts to develop feelings for Gucia. Tomek looks at her frequently, chases after her, calls for her name. Everything is different than it is with the other girls. At the end of the film, Gucia is now a boy named Piotrek. After the day is done, Piotrek says his goodbyes, but Tomek chases after him. Shouting, “Gucia! Gucia!” Eventually, Piotrek turns around, and says, “I’m not Gucia, I’m Piotrek,” and walks away, with Tomek still watching.


Gucia is an amazing story of what it feels like to feel love for the first time. Or to even feel love again. Winning the first-place award in Potsdam at the Student Film Festival. With innovative directing from Dorota Kedzierzawska, beautiful cinematography by Jaroslaw Szoda, and excellent casting of young passionate actors, Waldek Kalisz (Tomek) and Agatka Pokorowska (Gucia/Piotrek) this short film aces everything. The soundtrack by Zbigniew Zamachowski is whimsical, curious, and happy. Enveloping everything in the movie into one succinct and perfect short film.


This film spoke to me because everyone can remember their first love. Whether you disliked it or you are with the same person, everyone remembers the first person they truly loved. I can bring this film back to my grandparents from my father's side as my Oma is Polish, and my Opa is German. This story reminds me of them, and what it feels like to be a child again. A child with no responsibilities, the only responsibility you have as a child is to be free and youthful, which is what Tomek, and Gucia are doing in the film. The cinematography is also a reason why I decided to watch this movie. The quality, shots, perception, angles, are all outstanding, and as well as the black and white color brings it all together, making this one of my favorite short films I have watched.


I rate this movie a 9/10



9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page